Ballon d’Or award 2023: date, time, place, mode

The Ballon d’Or is one of two awards given to the world footballer. Date, time, place, mode – here is the most important information about the Ballon d’Or awards 2023.

Just yesterday, Paris Saint-Germain’s Lionel Messi was named World Player of the Year 2022 at The Best FIFA Football Awards ahead of Kylian Mbappé (also PSG) and Karim Benzema (Real Madrid).

However, he still shares the title of world footballer with Benzema, since the Frenchman won the Ballon d’Or in October, which is also for world footballer, but evaluates the past season and not the calendar year.

There are thus two prizes for the world footballer – the Ballon d’Or (Golden Ball) is awarded by the French trade magazine France Football As the name suggests, FIFA is responsible for the FIFA World Player of the World Award.

SPOX takes a look into the future and provides information on the Ballon d’Or awards of 2023. Date, time, place, mode – here’s everything you need to know.

Ballon d’Or award 2023: date, time, place, mode

The trophy for world footballer is far from the only one at stake at the Ballon d’Or event. Also awarded are the Ballon d’Or féminin for the world player, the Yashin Trophy for the best goalkeeper, the Kopa Trophy for the best youth player (under 21), the Gerd Müller Trophy for the best scorer, and last but not least the club of the year is also awarded.

Ballon d’Or 2023: date, time, place

The award is scheduled to take place on October 16, 2023 – as usual at the Théâtre du Châtelet in the French capital Paris.

Ballon d’Or award 2023: mode

As already mentioned, the past season – in this case the period from August 2022 to July 2023 – is used for the Ballon d’Or award. The 2022/23 season is therefore relevant for the Ballon d’Or 2023, and the World Cup in Qatar is also included in the evaluation.

A total of 100 media representatives from the 100 best countries according to the FIFA world rankings take part in the voting. Each journalist awards points. The best player according to his or her opinion gets 6 points, the second best 4, the third best 3, the fourth best 2 points and the fifth best 1 point. Then all points are added. Whoever has the most at the end wins the Ballon d’Or. In the event of a tie, the player with the most first-place finishes is the winner.

When awarding points, evaluation should be based on certain criteria. Of course, the focus is on individual performance, after that it’s all about success and the titles won with the club or national team. The fair play idea of ​​the players should also be taken into account.

Ballon d’Or winners: These were the winners of the past decade

Year 1st place (Team) 2nd place (Team) 3rd place (Team)
2012 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich)
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
2015 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Neymar (Barcelona)
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Neymar (Paris Saint Germain)
2018 Luka Modric (Real Madrid) Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
2019 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool) Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)
2020 cancelled
2021 Lionel Messi (Barcelona/PSG) Robert Lewandowski (Bayern) Jorginho (Chelsea)
2022 Karim Benzema (Real Madrid) Sadio Mane (Liverpool) Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)

Leave a Comment